New Blue Plaques in East and West Leake
Last year we installed three new Blue Plaques to commemorate significant historical developments in our villages. First were two plaques to mark the work of benefactor John Bley (1674-1731) who built the Bley Free School his school (1724) where the old Brookside Primary School now stands, and then his Georgian house on Main Street (1718). John's tomb is to be found below the west window of the parish church. A third plaque has just been installed on the old house in West Leake, once called "The Basket", which is where the Mills family first set up their important basketmaking works. A fourth plaque commemorating the Mills' Beehive and Central Works on East Leake's Main Street (where the chip shop now stands) is awaiting permission from the owners. We would like to thank our county councillors Marie Males and John Thurman, and the parish council itself, for their financial support for these historical marker plaque
Parish Boundary Project
The committee has agreed that we should join the county's parish Boundary Project. This involves walking the entire boundary of the Leake parish in order to identify key markers (stones, geographical features, trees etc) and flora along this ancient boundary. Our project is to be organised by David Anderson and the committee will soon be looking for volunteers to help with this fascinating practical development. Watch this space!